Why a House?

House-keysWe bought a house! Well, at least we’re close. An offer accepted, an inspection done, and we’re two weeks until closing date. As soon as we sent the text to friends and family that “We’re really doing it, Harry!” I received a text from my sister-in-law. It simply said, “Let the Pinteresting begin.” Ha! Yes.

Pinteresting is a valid verb, you know.

I do have plenty of pins on my Pinterest board labeled “Home.” And I plan on instituting a number of them inside and outside the house to make our 1200 sq ft as efficient, productive and beautiful as our budget will allow.

My husband and I have waited almost nine years to buy a house. This is the first time we have been anchored enough in one place to feel like buying a house would be a good idea. I’m BEYOND excited. I have been antsy-antsy-antsy for about five years to do this. But in the wait leading up to this first purchase, the Lord has taught me a few things about housing arrangements and my heart.

1) Owning my own home is not a birthright. I’m not entitled to it. A clean, safe place to call home is a distant dream for many people in this world, and one with the modern conveniences I take for granted, not to mention a good floor-plan, the size, and the beautiful finishes, are above and beyond the wildest imaginations for much of the world. I’m praying for a thankful and content heart while we are living in it.

2) The purpose of this home is not so it can be about me. Scripture is clear that EVERY good and perfect gift is from the Father. DH and I are stewards together of this gift of a house, and though I will be doing a bit of Pinteresting, this home is to be used for His glory. The time and money I pour into this house is so that I can better use it to pour into others. If my home ever starts to take priority over the Lord, then I have an idol on my hands.

I’m meditating a lot about how to use this house in a way that lines up with the heart of God. While we live there (as with any apartment or condo or rental we have or ever will live in), every part of the house can be used for His purposes. Some of those I’ve been praying about are:

– That my front door be quick to open to anyone and everyone for hospitality.
– That my foyer be often crowded with people sharing hugs of “hello” and “goodbye.”
– That my couches wear down from the many children who will play on them and the many people who will stay for a long conversation.
– That my kitchen be a place where I feed many, many people. That I rejoice in the wear and tear I see on the cupboards and appliances and floor and table. That I see each mess and spill as evidence of relationships that I have.
– That the window seat in my bedroom be a spot where much prayer takes place.
– That the backyard be a place where many conversations about the Lord happen with neighbors, both over the fence and over the fire pit we hope to install someday.

3) I must fight for the right perspective on what I think I need in a house. What a tricky word that is: need. I watch HGTV on and off, and one of the shows that always gets me is House Hunters. In almost every episode, I see people saying things like:

“Now that we have two children, we need at least four bedrooms. Five would be nice.”

“We need ‘his-and-hers’ walk-in closets in order to fit all of our clothes and shoes.”

“Our son/daughter needs a designated space that’s just for him/her to play. We can’t fit his/her toys in the bedroom alone.”

“We need a marble surround on that fireplace.”

“I hate the way this house is situated. I need much more natural light; otherwise, I feel like I’m living in a cave.”

And I’m not just pointing the finger at others. I see in my own life how quickly, “Gee, that’d be nice,” becomes “This is a grave injustice that I don’t have this.” In the little world-travel I’ve done, I’ve been confronted with how many people make do with so very little. Human material needs are actually very small. In my upcoming trip to Kenya, I’m sure I’ll be challenged by that again.

I know I will continue to face the enticing lie that if I “just had a little more than I do now, I’ll be set.” I’m praying that the Lord will remind me that HE is the only One who can satisfy the deepest needs of my soul. And my biggest issue will never be needing more square footage, not having the right paint color on my wall, or requiring a complete remodel of my kitchen.

Let us give thanks to the Lord, for he is good; his steadfast love endures forever.” – Psalm 118:1

One thought on “Why a House?

Leave a comment